On Saturday, April 14, the state president of the League of Women Voters issued this importact call to action:

Leaguers,
Your action is needed now. On Monday, the Constitution Revision Commission plans to vote on their proposals to send to the November ballot. The issue with that — rather than voting on each of the 24 proposals, the CRC plans to combine the 24 proposals into 12 amendments. The South Florida Sun-Sentinel wrote a great editorial piece regarding this issue on Thursday.
This is an obvious attempt to group amendments with each other in order to force commissioners (and voters) to approve ideas they may not support, in order to pass an idea they do support. Here’s a letter we sent to the CRC on Thursday expressing these concerns.
Even members of the CRC itself agree — read Commissioner Bob’s Martinez’s letter to the full CRC here. Commissioner Martinez plans to bring motions to the floor on Mondayto unbundle these proposals and allow the voters to clearly understand any amendments passed by the CRC.
The CRC was not appointed to play political games. The members of this unique commission were appointed to do the right thing for Floridians — which would be to present each idea to the voters in order to be voted up or down on their own merits.

What we need you to do:

We need you to let every Floridian know what they’re doing, and it has to be today. Send this alert to your personal networks and ask them to call the commissioners. Post it on all of your social media and email it to the editor of your local newspaper. We only have 48 hours to impact their vote on Monday.
Contact the CRC and tell them to do what is best for the voters of Florida: Stop the political games. Do the right thing for Florida voters and let each proposal stand on its own merits. Support Commissioner Bob Martinez’s motion to unbundle each group of proposals.

Chair Carlos Beruff: (850) 717-9550carlos.beruff@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Pam Bondi: (850) 414-3990pam.bondi@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Lisa Carlton: (941) 218-0142lisa.carlton@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Timothy Cerio: (850) 296-2920timothy.cerio@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Jose Felix Diaz: jose.diaz@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Erika Donalds: (850) 270-8283Erika.Donalds@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Don Gaetz: don.gaetz@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Emery Gainey: (850) 296-0898emerygainey@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Anna Gamez: (850) 320-8716anna.gamez@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Tom Grady: (850) 270-1630tom.grady@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Brecht Heuchan: (850) 296-7122brecht.heuchan@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Marva Johnson: (850) 792-6574marva.johnson@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Darlene Jordan: (561) 331-1701darlene.jordan@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Fred Karlinsky: (954) 951-3548fred.karlinsky@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Belinda Keiser: (954) 609-5265belinda.keiser@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Tom Lee: (813) 653-7061tom.lee@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Gary Lester: (352) 775-7890gary.lester@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Patricia Levesque: (850) 895-1249patricia.levesque@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Rich Newsome: (850) 792-5303rich.newsome@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Chris Nocco: (727) 847-5878chris.nocco@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Jeanette Nunez: (305) 227-7630jeanette.nunez@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Sherry Plymale: (772) 210-4468sherry.plymale@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Darryl Rouson: (727) 822-6828darryl.rouson@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Bill Schifino: (850) 792-5825william.schifino@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Bob Solari: (772) 226-1438bob.solari@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Chris Sprowls: (727) 793-2810chris.sprowls@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. John Stargel: john.stargel@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. John Stemberger: (850) 329-0805john.stemberger@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Pam Stewart: (850) 245-050, pam.stewart@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch: (772) 218-0842jacqui.lippisch@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Carolyn Timmann: (772) 210-4398carolyn.timmann@flcrc.gov

Cmssr. Nicole Washington: (786) 309-6022nicole.washington@flcrc.gov

Thank you for all that you do.
In League,
Pamela Goodman
President
Share →